Don’t forget, you’re the only one

February 24, 2008



I think what Elephant 6 meant for us is very simple: there’s something pure and infinite in you, that wants to come out of you, and can come out of no other person on the planet. That’s what you’ve got to share, and that’s as real or important as the fact that you’re alive. We were able, at a really young age, to somehow protect each other so that we could feel that. The world at large, careerism, money, magazines, your parents, the people at the rock club in your town, other kids, nothing is going to give you that message, necessarily. In fact, most things are going to lead you away from it, sadly, because humanity is really confused at the moment. But you wouldn’t exist if the universe didn’t need you. And any time I encounter something beautiful that came out of a human somewhere, that’s them, that’s their soul. That’s just pure, whatever is physically is, if the person can play piano, if they can’t play piano, if they’re tone deaf, whatever it is, it’s pure and it hits you like a sledgehammer. It fills up your own soul, it makes you want to cry, it makes you glad you’re alive, it lets you come out of you. And that’s what we need: we desperately need you.

I just came back from watching Be Kind, Rewind, and well, it’s a beautiful movie, I think.  My friends afterwards said “That was weird” when I was thinking of sitting through the credits.  But I didn’t, I gave into my friends cause, well, they invited me out so who am I to do otherwise?

After telling the tale of a movie rental store going down the drain, and an old man’s attempt to fix the problem, we find out two young men, who fit in to this youtube era, are trying to fix their own problems and have some fun about it.  And, along the way, make some fans.

Immediately I saw the connection to the Elephant 6 Collective; completely home made, but it was something that brought people together, and in turn it was beautiful.  It had a moment that I haven’t experienced in movies recently, a beautiful happy moment.  I actually almost teared up.  And well, something funny happened, and to me it was just a beautiful human moment, while everyone else in the audience laughed.

Yes, Michel Gondry has not only done it again, but he has perfected that fantastic reality in which we actually do live.  Everyday people can make a difference to those around town, if they want.  And, if they have the resources and the gumption to go through with it.

But back to that Elephant 6 thing, which was basically my entire college life and plans on audio CD.  The ups and downs of life are fun, and something homemade from it is even better.  I even read a book on the subject.   And the wikipedia entry says, as quoted by Robert Schneider, “The Elephant 6 Recording Company re-opens our doors and windows, and invites the world: join together with your friends and make something special, something meaningful, something to remember when you are old.”

So, what’s holding me back?  I’ve got friends who like to think they can act, and I’ve got a movie camera.  And, I’ve got some of the Elephant 6 spirit in me.  And well, last night in discussion of the (presumed) failed RPM challenge this year,  “I’ve got a lot to work on, musicianship wise.”  And while I may have a lot to work on directorship wise, it’s what I went to school for.

So after watching Be Kind Rewind, the spark refueled inside me.
And I remember the naivety I told my parents and my boss at that grocery store – I want to make movies.

Leave a Reply

