A Complaint

May 16, 2008

I don’t like to complain, to begin with. I feel that complaining and criticizing attempts to show importance over another. I feel that it creates an unofficial hierarchy, and usually the “winner” is just the one who is louder. However, I must.

Rice. We all eat it; it’s fairly inexpensive and a great side dish. It’s filling, and somewhat fancy. It isn’t particularly tasty, although it mixes well with meat and veggies, so everyone of all eating types can enjoy it. However, it’s become expensive.
The rice image I posted above is an item at almost every grocery store. I know of it because I scan aisles and make sure they are scanning the same price as the tag. If not, I either change the price of change the tag. Well, when it comes to Goya items, they have their own book, which for whatever reason we haven’t received since March. In the book, it reads $5.39 for the 10lb bag. The price it was scanning, in preparation for next week, is $10.99.
Talk about a price hike. It more than doubled in 2 less than months. What the fuck?
I also don’t like swearing.
So, what can man do, what can I do as the reading of this wonderful blog? You can complain and show how important you are, compared to the bag of rice, but will that make the cashier charge you less? Of course not. You can complain to Goya, who will give you, what, at most a free bag of rice? A coupon? Just to keep your mouth shut.
The way I would fix this is by sharing. Now, I realize that sounds like I’m six years old, which I must say wouldn’t surprise me; I dunno if I’ve actually matured mentally since then. But what I really mean, is be nice to your neighbor. Be nice to your friend. Share. We’re all in this together; we’re all being cheated out of gasoline, milk, rice, whatever. We might as well buy our stuff together…

Leave a Reply

