Forgive Me, I Listen To Bright Eyes

September 7, 2008

Such a lovely song. Although, he does change it up slightly. Interestingly enough.

We all love, we all infatuate, which apparently is a word (and a verb), and some of us inquire and act. Others hide away and wonder why the other person can’t figure us out. Which is stupid, but I do it, ergo I am stupid.

Something, most likely that song, reminded me of my last “true” love. This tall blond haired girl from college, who might know of this (hopefully not now lol). And it’s part of my history, it’s part of my past. It affects my present, and my art, but it isn’t part of my present.

Perhaps she is worth remembering and needs to be in my present. Or, perhaps she is the one memory I need to let go to be free. But artists, failed or successes, delayed or advanced, also need those people and those events (or lack of events) to create. Waking Life covers that – creativity comes from a lack of something.

And what do I do? Let these memories overtake me? Act on such a random memory? Move on and pretend? I’ve been trying to do the latter with everything else – pretend I’m not thinking about having to walk heel-toe-heel-toe. But, maybe, just maybe, this is telling me just be who I am, and do what I want to do.

A reunion is always nice, but not always necessary. Nor is it always advisable.

I thought about my true love/the one I really need/with eyes that burn so bright they make me pure/they make me pure/they make me pure/I long to be with you

Leave a Reply

