When You Were Young…

November 1, 2008

So starts the best album ever. …You were the king of carrot flowers. Well, okay, maybe not THE best album ever. On Avery Island is a close second 😛

Anyways, today is a special day for me, but two years ago at about this time is was one of the most depressing days of my life. Stupid social college stuff – the desire to have a girlfriend. I did indeed forget about it at work, but now that I’m out of work, and going to have my mind to myself for the rest of the day (yay loner Virgo!) I’m sure it’ll have its effect. But, I’m quite glad I was able to put it behind me for work – cause today is today, and not yesterday.

But I’ve been thinking a little bit lately about Twee music, and even attempting to make Twee music, and was trying to find the orchestrated version of “Engine” around somewhere. But what I got instead was memories of the best opening track, “King Of Carrot Flowers pt. 1”. And, how I interpret it as “I’m young, I’m in love, and boy are my parents weird” – or, teenage stuff. Which is what got me into that predicament two years ago…

I even, in infatuation, have a silly alternate “verse” to the song – That was the day/to my dismay/I knew I could love/and saw an angel standing in your shoes/and even then I couldn’t tell you all the news.

Just to show, how much the album, and songs, have influenced me…

What a beautiful face/I have found in this place/that is circling all around the sun.

God, I need to write about something besides girls and Neutral Milk Hotel…

Leave a Reply

