So This Is Goodbye

February 16, 2009

I used to drive home from your house late at night, and would occasionally see this man walking his dog. Sometimes in the middle of winter, around 11pm or later. I wonder what his life must be like. I wonder if I should stop and say hello.

What if he was really really lonely? What if he had a knife, and wanted to stab me to death? What if I drove passed and splashed water on him?

What if I grew, right in front of you? What if confidence grew so much it became arrogance? What if I stayed passive, like I was in high school?

I sigh. What if won’t get you anywhere. What is will get you everywhere.

Walking back to you/is the hardest thing/I can’t do
Goodbye. For now.

Leave a Reply

