10 Years In The Future

March 9, 2009

It’s late on a Thursday night. Around 11pm. In one hour, my second feature film will be released to a handful of theaters in a handful of cities. Enough to show my debut was a success, but still on the indie circuit.

I think back about what stressful fun it was to make. Both of them, actually. What odd jobs I had to do to continue production of the first. And how “rich” I thought I was, only to realize almost all of the debut’s profits had to go to the follow-up.

I think about how the moral of Type was quite clear, where is Immune is a bit ambiguous. I think about how Type was somewhat humorous, while Immune is serious. I wonder if the audience will be disappointed or excited by the change of pace.

I think back to being forced to watch Type with my friends in the city. Watching it with my family upstate. And how that’s how I spent my weeks, traveling upstate and downstate, through all seasons.

I smile. I didn’t give up, and I’m where I wanted to get. And I think about how easy I thought it would be, about ten years ago. I think about how my friends and family didn’t let me give up. And I’m glad they were so persistent.

I look at my watch. It’s 12:01am. Friday. The midnight showings start. I take a deep breath, and hope I can get to sleep tonight…

Leave a Reply

