Just Beyond The Horizon

May 11, 2009

I remember when I first saw it. Catching it on some wild feed off the huge satellite dish that is no longer in our backyard. I was probably 15 or 16 when I saw it. I was absolutely stunned by the image of him crashing into the horizon. Him walking along it. I remember Ed Harris’ “I am the creator” -PAUSE- “of a television show” seemed much more overwhelming that first time.

I think I have a plan to move out. Just beyond the horizon. I can actually see Mount Beacon from my parents’ house. Poughkeepsie is “just beyond that” in theory. I imagine that Round Hill is somewhere in view around here, if all the trees weren’t in the way. Washingtonville is right around there.

And while the former would be what I’m after, moving to Washingtonville with a friend is what will work. I have a plan. It will work. It might take overcoming my fear as Truman did, and pushing death. But I’m still in my parents’ house. Living the life they set up for me. Soon, I have to go into that unknown world. But it will work.

Leave a Reply

