Hints of Autumn

August 27, 2009

I woke up this morning, and got ready for work. My parents were already out, and I struggled to up on my own. I did my morning routine all by myself – getting breakfast ready, getting changed, locking the doors, etc. I step outside. It’s cool. I can sense autumn in the air. And I’m…happy.

I drive to work with the windows down. I forget what I listened to, but it doesn’t matter right now. I got to work. And I’m…sad.

I tell a co-worker how much I love fall. Sweater weather – I look good in sweaters. I’m an asshole to my girlfriend – but I look good in sweaters :).

I tell another co-worker the same. She agrees, and talks about apple picking and pumpkins growing and all that fun stuff. She deduces it’s cause her and I have autumnal birthdays. I kinda doubt it – I like spring much more than fall. But, I’m happy.

I sit outside on all my breaks. It’s comfortable. I go out later with my girlfriend, it’s a nice day to drive around with the windows down. It’s still comfortable, at 8pm. We go to a park and do our own thing. But it was nice.

Autumn’s coming. Winter’s coming. I’m gonna be 25 very soon (26 days, actually!). I haven’t moved out from my parents house since graduating college. But I can bare it for now. Autumn’s coming. It’s nice.

Leave a Reply

