100 Word Challenge: Perfection

October 7, 2009

I remember coming up with the idea. Maybe on a caffeine rush.

“Say the backup, ‘Hey Pal’.”

She catches on. “Hey Pal.”

“But what rhymes with ‘pal’? Gal? Sal?”

I write it down. Some silly alterations. She comes up with ‘dude’ and ‘bro’ for the second verse. I’m very grateful.

The next day I play around with some chords. I want this to be three chords. I am overplaying “Hideway” by the Olivia Tremor Control – the final influence.

“There’s things that you do
That certainly are true
And those things that you do
I give them back to you.”

Perfection.

Leave a Reply

