A Farmer, In Iceland; Pt. II

April 15, 2010

A friend of mine brought this up today. The volcano eruption would be a good reason not to live over there. I told her it’d be part of the fun, and had to remind her of an earlier story I imagined where I’d be rowboating for the hell of it, a volcano would go off and then my boat would catch on fire. Hell, it is springtime, I probably would be doing that!

Anyways, what happened to that part of me? That wanted to do something completely irrational, and get paid for it? Something I probably wouldn’t be great at, but would learn to cope with it – or fail which I do seem to be great at… Where’s the dreamer in me, as if I could do that successfully?

Further, I have come up with a utopia, using modern day technology. Imagine if we all were farmers, and grew corn and potatoes, maybe had a chicken or two for eggs (and eventually meat). Imagine there were solar panels on the roof, so we could power things – like this laptop. We would have food, we would have electricity. We would have shelter. We would be independent from the country (and our neighbors!).

I should be the change I want to see in the world, not tell stories of it. I could do it. I should do it. Will I do it?

This is why I really bring all this up – there’s a job opening in a small city around here, for a journalist. I haven’t applied to it. I don’t know if I will.

I hate the job I have right now. Granted, this new job would be a much further commute, were I to stay here (though, I do know how I’d get there – through another small and worse off city lol!). I probably would be earning more. I could also move there, or at least to a closer town. This isn’t my dream job, but it’s what my degree kinda set me up for.

But what did happen to that dreamer in me? Ya know, Albert Camus wrote for an underground newspaper. Granted, it was for the Communists (I think). Stanley Kubrick sent pictures to a magazine company. And as the job desciption says – narrative writing is a plus. I want to write, be it for the big screen or a philosophy or even this blog – and I want to write my lyrics.

What happened to me? Seriously…

Leave a Reply

