And Then One Day You Find, Ten Years Have Got Behind You

September 28, 2010

I’m pretty sure that’s not an official video. Although, I wanna say the bad CGI is, cause I have seen a few official Pink Floyd videos and they tinkered with that kind of animation. But whoever made that did quite well!

Anyway, when I think back ten years ago…wow, 2000. I was 16, in tenth grade (not a high school freshman anymore!), and taking my last year of French class. In one year, I would be heartbroken (over a crush, although that would actually be in December, I think?), know what longing feels like, and think I was ready for everything.

I’m pretty sure that year I saw the Kevin Smith movies for the first time, and wanted to make something home made. The best thing I came up with was Bombastic High. Which, someone later said the BOMB in bombastic would cause commotion. I dunno.

But I’m also pretty sure that year I started getting into Pink Floyd. I remember in the late 90s and early 2000s that “alternative” rock kinda sucked. We had to wait for the White Stripes to get us out of it – but by then I had moved on to so much better music called ‘classic rock’. And then I moved on to indie, but that’s irrelevent right now.

So, wow, ten years have got behind me. Life isn’t long, and I’m not young. But I’m still here, and if I start doing the right things this can be a third of the way there, instead of half (though, dying at 52 would *really* suck!).

I know where I want to be. I just have to get there. And well, listening to things in the past like Pink Floyd probably won’t get me there. But listening to it on my way to work will remind me that there is more than my day job.

Leave a Reply

